Well, that happened fast. After more than a decade of waiting on the follow-up to his undisputed-classic Voodoo album, D'Angelo fans are getting hit left-and-right with new material from the R&B legend. Just a few hours after dropping the project's first single, D has let loose the official tracklist as well as a brief introductory note for listeners. While no guests are currently credited, Pitchfork confirmed that Q-Tip will be providing vocals on the album while ?uestlove contributes instrumentals.

“Black Messiah is a hell of a name for an album. It can easily be misunderstood,” reads the release. “For me, the title is about all of us. It’s about the world. It’s about an idea we can all aspire to. We should all aspire to be a Black Messiah.” Check out the full note in the gallery above.

Check the tracklist below. Is D'Angelo about to drop a last minute album of the year contender? Let us know what you think in the comment section.


1. “Ain’t That Easy”
2. “1000 Deaths”
3. “The Charade”
4. “Sugah Daddy”
5. “Really Love”
6. “Back in the Future (Part I)”
7. “Till It’s Done (Tutu)”
8. “Prayer”
9. “Betray My Heart”
10. “The Door”
11. “Back in the Future (Part II)”
12. “Another Life”

[Update: Album stream now available]

After 14 years of delays, D'Angelo's The Black Messiah has finally been let loose on the world with only a few days notice. For those among us who are too young to remember Voodoo, get introduced to an R&B legend below.