Basketball fans can rejoice at this year's list of recipients for the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Today it's been announced that NBA legends Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar will both be presented with the honor, among a list of 22 recipients. The only other basketball player to receive this award is Celtics OG Bill Russell. The Presidential Medal of Freedom is considered to be America's highest civilian honor.

Among the other notable recipients this year are Ellen Degeneres, Robert De Niro, Tom Hanks, and Bruce Springsteen.

Microsoft's own Bill and Melinda Gates will also receive the honor this year. Despite Bill Gates's enormous achievements in technology and philanthropy, we think we may know the real reason the billionaire is receiving this esteemed honor.